Jardin Botanique de Lyon

I’ve been meaning to visit Lyon’s botanic gardens (in the Parc de la Tête d’Or) for months now. Even with a few hours to wander around, I didn’t see it all, so I’m planning on going back the next chance I get. (Like many of Lyon’s attractions, it’s free to walk around.)

While I was there, I visited two greenhouses. Beyond the greenhouses, there are rows and rows of specimens. As in most botanic gardens, you’ll only see a few examples of each type of plant. While the gardens are aesthetically appealing, it’s important to note that botanic gardens are organized as much to instruct as to please the eye.

Here are a few photos from my visit. If you’re living in or visiting Lyon, I’d highly recommend a trip! Jus head to Parc de la Tête d’Or and follow the map (it’s a large park and the gardens are sort of in the ‘back’). For more information, here is the website: http://www.jardin-botanique-lyon.com/jbot/.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What do you think?

